Tech Issues

Updating Driver for Wifi Adapter in Ubuntu

Warning !

This code blocks are obtained from stack over flow, this particular blog post to emphasize a little bit more from the issues related to that.

Since the time I started using external Wifi Adapter, the wifi connections lost even though the symbol says connected, I have looked into several suggestions but that doesn’t works because I failed to figure out my exact mistake; Yesterday only I figured out mistake, those days when I installed Ubuntu 16.04 I thought it may be due to some issues related to particular version, but when I tried through try Ubuntu it is same; and Finally when I tried with Ubuntu 14.04; There after I figured out the Issue is with Updating device driver :D.

Check this code (Note this will work for Realtek based wifi Adapter, since in the third line we can clearly see the phrase “rtl8192cu-dkms”. So don’t try this for other cases 🙂

Ubuntu 14.04

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:hanipouspilot/rtlwifi
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install rtl8192cu-dkms linux-firmware

Ubuntu 16.04

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:hanipouspilot/rtlwifi
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install rtl8192eu-dkms rtlwifi-new-dkms linux-firmware

References

  1. http://askubuntu.com/questions/663411/in-ubuntu-14-04-why-does-my-internet-connection-keep-disconnecting
Leave a Reply

